Rosa Jackson’s Bourride

The final recipe in an amazing adventure!

This is my third Dorie Greenspan cookbook I have completely finished (+ the cookie one I came up a bit short on and will finish on my own). This one we started November of 2018…so just short of 5 1/2 years of twice a month cooking and blogging.

I would say, this one, Everyday Dorie is my favorite one!

It is my favorite because it really is an “everyday” cookbook with elevated dishes, it has a wide variety of dinner dishes and some desserts, but mostly because there are many recipes in this cookbook I have made over and over and over again…they were that good!

I have loved the community of bakers I have met through this group…that I have never met in person, but feel like they are friends. I am sad for it to end. Thankfully many of us are still currently working our way through another one of Dorie’s cookbooks so it isn’t ALL done yet..thank goodness. This baking/blogging is just part of who I am now after doing it since 2012 😳…I can’t stop hahaha.

I wasn’t sure about having this recipe as our last hooray…it didn’t appear to be one that would amaze me, or be a fantastic looking dessert like one of our other cookbooks…but boy did I underestimate this recipe! It was a simple, humble looking dish but packed an amazing and fantastic punch of flavor…unbelievable, honestly, from what I expected. I always know it is a winner when my husbands first question is, “how hard was this?” 😂

Thankfully it wasn’t hard. There are only two parts, and since making our own garlic aioli required barely cooked egg yolks, I bought that part.

The second part is making the “bourride” which tells you it is a fish stew of sorts with aioli..a garlic mayonnaise. This fish stew is a nod to Dorie’s friend Rosa who is a “whose who” in France giving tours of the Nice Market and runs a cooking school so you can buy your ingredients and then head over and make the dish. Sounds fun!

The base of the dish is cubed carrots, sliced leeks, and shredded spinach. This is all sautéed for 5 min and then fish added to the pan and cooked for another 4-6 min on each side. I opted to bake my Mahi by itself and just cooked the veggies for 10 min. The garlic aioli and some broth are added to the veggies to make a sauce, more thick than thin.

The veggies and sauce get placed in a shallow dish with the fish added on top. Top with some pepper.

My husbands first comment went straight to…this is FANTASTIC. I hadn’t even tried it yet, and was like, really?! And he said, yes…fantastic! I tried it and thoroughly agreed…fantastic. What I loved about this dish was the amazing flavor we got without it being a heavy dish even though there was a garlic aioli sauce…it was like a light coating to dip everything in, not be overpowered by.

We loved everything about it…the veggies, fish, and sauce. This will be another one of Dorie’s recipes that gets repeated in our house.

Honestly, usually when I have finished a cookbook it gets retired from the spot next to the stove to make way for something new, but this one will stay right where it is because I use it so often. I will remember all the fun cooking adventures with all of you each time I pull it out.

So, I will end this post and cookbook by saying…this recipe AND this cookbook are both a keeper!!

4 thoughts on “Rosa Jackson’s Bourride

  1. This dish was fantastic– surprisingly easy for something so elegant, and even though it was just our final recipe by default, it was a perfect one to end with. I can’t believe we’ve been with this book for over 5 years. Time flies!

  2. Wow, what a nice photo of this dish. We, too, thought it was fantastic and have plans to make it again soon. I couldn’t believe how easy it was as we went along, came together in no time. Your fish looks like a good choice for this. It was fun cooking with you for this book.

  3. My favourite Dorie book is still Around my French Table but this one does have a few “keepers” for sure! This one included! So happy to have had you along for the ride – it’s always interesting to read your (and your family’s) takes on the recipes! This one was DEFINITELY a keeper!

Leave a comment