Goat Cheese-Black Pepper Quick Bread

This quick bread is described as being perfect for eating outdoors, perhaps at a garden party or with a cold glass of wine. That it is a cross between a muffin and a sponge cake…laced beautifully with goat cheese, mint, and a fair amount of black pepper.

I knew this would be an out of the box experiment for us. Most of us aren’t big goat cheese eaters, wine drinkers, or lovers of mint in food but we are always up for the adventure because you never know. 🤷‍♀️

Quick bread, really is a quick bread to make…pretty much combine wet ingredients, then dry. Mix the two lightly together and fold in gently the cheese and mint. We are told be light, and fast is better than thorough. The dough is smoothed out and cooked for about 35 min.

So, interestingly the recipe notes compare this bread to a cross between a muffin and sponge bread…first reaction I got was this seemed like a cross between cornbread and a biscuit. How funny is that?! 😂. Most of my tasters gave me the feedback that they weren’t really a fan…that it was fun to try but just not their thing. This did not surprise me.

Not a keeper with this one…but I am feeling very confident that they will have a different opinion about the salted caramel cake that comes later this month. 😂❤️

5 thoughts on “Goat Cheese-Black Pepper Quick Bread

  1. Fun to read your test/taste experiment and hear the outcome. Not everything is a keeper, right? I can’t abide wet bread, so bread pudding is just never my thing and I just skip it…I should be more brave like you and go ahead anyway…you never know. Your bread certainly looks so pretty in the photo, so looks 10 taste 2, I would think that you can safely say this is not a repeat for your household. If you want to make it again for some reason, send it right over here, we really liked it. I’ll send you my bread puddings. lol

Leave a comment