Parisian Custard Tart

Let’s just start by saying…you want the top to be browned to a mahogany char…the darker the top, the more authentic the tart!

Whoo hoo!

I felt like I had to tell everyone I gave a piece to…it is suppose to be burnt looking on top…it isn’t a mistake haha. I think I would have problems serving this at a gathering, or bringing somewhere without the disclaimer 😂🤦‍♀️

I shouldn’t have worried…this was loved by all! In fact, my son likened it to…and I quote,

“Loved the dessert!😍 reminds me exactly of these “pasteis de nata” things that we had in Lisbon”

I mean does it get better than that?..I think not haha!

Everyone loved the crust, and the lightness and texture of the custard…not to mention the flavor. I feel like this was a pretty easy dessert for the reactions I got.

I used the store bought puff pastry as suggested by Dorie…and honestly probably the hardest part was getting a rectangle piece shaped and fitted into a round springform haha. But it worked and looked way better than I had expected that is for sure. The custard was easy, but always unsettling to make sure it doesn’t curdle, but this one was a success. Everything needs some chilling time, separately and together so that takes some planning. I let mine chill overnight as suggested and I think based on the reviews, that was a good choice and I would do that again.

Since I have one more sheet of puff pastry, I am thinking I will make this again for everyone. 😍

This one is a keeper!

8 thoughts on “Parisian Custard Tart

  1. Yes…I had the same feeling, that I should explain that the top was supposed to be very brown…I was nervous about that part. Yours looks stunning, how you were brave enough to let it go to the proper brown, I will never know. I was a chicken and stopped at “sort of.” Fun post…your son cracks me up. You did a beautiful job on this.

Leave a comment