Pain De Gênes Buttons

These almond cookies are really a cross between a sponge and pound cake. Baked into a mini-muffin pan instead of loaf, they become “buttons”…small and cute and full of flavor.

This is a very simple recipe ingredient-wise and I would offer, if you are not a fan of almond flavoring your might not prefer these.

The main ingredient is almond paste which is mixed for two sessions of 5 min while adding very small amounts of flour, cornstarch, butter, and vanilla or rum…along with 2 eggs. We are aiming for a mixture creamy and rather like mayonnaise. I wasn’t quite sure we would get there but we did!

All in all, fairly easy although we are told to “unmold the cookies after baking and if there are a few stragglers, rap the tin against the counter and they will tumble out“. That would not be how I would describe my experience haha. All of them stuck, none of them “tumbled out”, and all required a full individual loosening and pulling out. 😳😂. Not easy at all, but somehow they all made it through rather unscathed.

I would say, you have to enjoy a strong almond flavoring to like these cookies. I did use the almond paste recommended, but maybe if I had made my own, it would have been a little milder in flavor. Anyway, I was the only one who didn’t really care for these…most everyone else loved them.

2 thoughts on “Pain De Gênes Buttons

Leave a comment