Christmas Spice Cookies

spice

I wasn’t sure I would get these done, but I was able to squeeze them in!   This recipe starts with a “Do Almost Anything Vanilla Dough” as the base and then you add in the Christmas spice…being cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and allspice.

I have to start by saying everyone loved these!

I think they were intriguing to my tasters.  They appear to be sugar cookies but they are so different which catches you off guard.  These cookies are light, crisp, and bursting with spice.  I was afraid I would miss the icing since they seem like sugar cookies to me but surprisingly you don’t! There is enough flavor for them to hold their own.  (notice I found another use for my Swedish Sugar from our Tarte Tropezienne :))

The only downside I came across was dealing with the dough.  It is sticky.  You chill it either an hour in the freezer or 3 in the fridge before cutting.  That takes some timing but still doable.  The problem I came across, and would be curious if others of you had the same problem, was that as I was cutting out my shapes, the dough was quickly coming to room temp…like really quickly.  The first batch I did I couldn’t complete the cutting of my first rolled out dough.  I got smarter though afterward and worked very quickly on each batch.

I also cooked these for half the time recommended…more like 10 minutes.  All in all, I would have to say these were a sweet surprise and a nice addition to my cookie platters sent into work.

8 thoughts on “Christmas Spice Cookies

  1. Those look awesome with the sugar sparkles! Yes, I also found the dough difficult to work with– incredibly sticky. I don’t remember how quickly it came up to temperature, I just mostly remember it was so sticky!

  2. I had the same problem as you with the dough. I am glad I am not the only one. I resorted to working in my refrigerator to keep the dough from melting too quickly. Your cookies look really festive. Merry Christmas!

  3. Love the candy canes, those are so pretty. YES I had the same problem with working with the dough but the taste was so good that I might be willing to tackle it again. Especially to make these candy cane shapes!

  4. nice decorating! my kitchen is the coldest room in the house in the winter, so i didn’t have any soft dough issues this time (ask me again in the summer, when it’s the hottest room in the house!). happy christmas to you!

  5. I love your candy cane shape and decoration! So cute. I made these at Christmastime, but didn’t get around to posting about them – I’ll have to remember for the next rewind posting date. They were a hit for my family, too.

Leave a Reply

