Apple Tart with Crunchy Almond Topping

img_3458

We are in the midst of a fall heat-wave…98 degrees the day I baked this tart.  Not exactly the fall baking experience I was looking for but what can you do?  I certainly won’t complain about our great year-round weather but it would have felt more like fall, baking an apple tart, in lets say maybe something in the 70’s haha!

This tart recipe is pretty simple…basically three steps.

  • The crust is not new to us.  We have used it in previous recipes and comes together easily.
  • The apples, which I subbed for the pears, are sautéed in butter and then some sugar.  I had never done this and I am wondering why??  They looked so good as they browned up on random edges and sides.  I could have eaten them plain, just out of the pan.
  • The almond topping is just egg whites, confectioner sugar, and almonds.

Seriously, very simple recipe and yet quite elegant looking.  I would say very good for a brunch or luncheon.  All my tasters agreed that this was delicious!  They loved it!

Personally, I preferred the plain apples. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Apple Tart with Crunchy Almond Topping

  1. We had a very warm day too the day I made the crust and I think my pears perished in the heat. I didn’t get much caramelization on-my apples and liked them very well that way.

  2. I will definitely have to try it with apples another time. Though, like you, I might have just eaten the apples!

  3. I haven’t made this yet, but everyone’s photos are making me want to get on with it – it’s such a beautiful tart. I love that apples and pears are interchangeable in many recipes. It’s nice to go with what you’ve got on hand or what looks best in the market.

  4. We loved this tart and I think it is company worthy. Good to know that it works well with apples too. We have shad ome hot days in California too, I am not sure where you live but I sympathize with the 98 degree heat.

Leave a Reply

