Custardy Apple Squares

img_3395

Dorie calls this a “Back-Pocket Recipe”; one that you can use when you need something quick and easy.  The recipe uses ingredients that you would normally have on hand…apples, flour, baking powder, eggs, sugar, milk, butter, and vanilla.  Nothing too fancy, but easy to pull off.  I did not have a mandoline, which she suggested to make the slicing of the apples easier and more uniform…oh darn, had to go get a new cooking gadget!  Funny thing is, I have used it three times now (and sliced my thumb!!)  since I bought it so I guess it was a good purchase! 🙂

Everyone really enjoyed this dessert.  I added a bit of cinnamon because I just couldn’t help myself.  I am not sure it really made that much difference though.  Overall, this was a good, easy recipe but in my opinion, a bit bland.  I think it was actually better later, chilled.  Quite a few people said it reminded them of the restaurant The Original Pancake House’s apple pancake.  Not a bad comparison!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Custardy Apple Squares

  1. A mandoline is on my ‘to buy’ list, but I haven’t gotten one yet because I’m still a little wary of them. I’m going to have to do it, though. For recipes like this one, I can’t deny how useful it would be.

    • Not sure where you live but I bought mine at Home Goods for $12 so not too expensive. I also chose the one with a lock so the blade won’t accidentally cut me while in the drawer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

