Betty’s Chocoholic Cake

IMG_1328

I think think the recipe’s name says it all…this is a chocolate lovers dream.  I had one taster say this was the best thing she had ever eaten…now I think that might have been a slight exaggeration…but…everyone did love this!

I made this for Mother’s Day and made the raspberry coulis to go along with it.  Interestingly, some people loved the cake with it, and others loved the cake plain.  I personally think if I was to make this again, I would use ice cream between the three cake layers like one of the options stated.  I think that would be amazing! :)…I am already thinking chocolate chip and mint chip!!

One thing I did like about this recipe was that I could make the cake layers a few days ahead and freeze them.  This makes it a perfect “taking to a party” kind of cake.  The day of the event you can pull out the frozen layers and make your ganache and frost.  It came together very easily and looks quite impressive.  The only trouble I had was making the white chocolate ribbons and I think that was probably because of the chocolate bar I used.  Mine turned out more like shavings than ribbons.  I couldn’t find a thick slab like I was picturing in my head, but had to use a white chocolate bar which was too thin and made it difficult to carve out the ribbons.  It still worked ok, but I would change how I did that next time.

This is a “one small slice” kind of dessert…a little goes a long way.  It is so chocolately and decadent you don’t need much.  That…and the fact it uses 3 and 1/2 sticks of butter…you only need a taste. 🙂  I think it was unanimous with the tasters, this one is a keeper!

IMG_1326

 

11 thoughts on “Betty’s Chocoholic Cake

  1. I haven’t looked at the recipe for this but it looks delicious and I am excited that it has several options. Your version looks great… I probably would have made the coulis too – I am a huge fan. Look forward to trying this!

Leave a Reply

