Odile’s Fresh Orange Cake

IMG_0854

This one seemed straight forward and simple enough, or so it seemed, but those darn simple ingredients got me this time.

I have the orange tree out back so those were not a problem…and take a look at those oranges!!  We are experiencing a severe drought here in California…restricted watering days and all.  Can you even believe the size of these monstrous oranges???  They have gotten very little water and yet, my tree is loaded with oranges and many of them are this huge.  So strange to me…and they are super juicy and delicious too!

I got busy baking one afternoon…too late for my liking but sometimes you just have to go for it.  The recipe seemed simple enough, I didn’t even check to see if I had everything.(BIG mistake)  I mean, being “baker”, I usually have most all of the basics on hand.

Got started on this one and ugh…can you even believe I had no sugar..of all things.  I kept looking in my cabinets and pantry expecting the new bag of sugar to appear or something. I still can’t believe I didn’t have any.  So I call my dear friend up the street, also one of my tasters :), and ask if I can borrow some sugar…for the dessert they will be having that night haha.  SHE does not have any sugar either…says maybe a cup but that was all.

I had been debating about doing the optional poached oranges on top, wondering if the cake would save very well that way, and here was my decision.  Her cup of sugar was not enough for the poached oranges, but it was enough sugar to finish this cake I had started.  I could have run to the store but ugh, who wants to do that right about dinner time if you can avoid it right??

The cake is actually very easy to put together, especially if you have all the ingredients on hand haha.  It is a very simple cake…probably would have enjoyed having the poached oranges on top if for nothing else to make it a bit fancier.  My husband “liked” it but said it reminded him of corn bread?? maybe by the way it looks or the consistency, I don’t know…but the rest of my tasters all loved it even with just the orange syrup on top.   I didn’t get to try it so I can’t really weigh in on this one but, I would say majority rules and this one is a keeper.

IMG_1018

 

12 thoughts on “Odile’s Fresh Orange Cake

  1. There were quite a few who mentioned the cornbread- I could definitely see (and taste) that as it was more like cornbread than a pound or other cake. But yummy and an adventure ! And I am so jealous of your orange trees – wow ! Those oranges were some size. Even better to know that they were juicy and tasty as well. Fabulous ~

  2. I did the same thing a couple of days ago! I started making banana bread confident I had everything and realised I had no eggs!
    I think it looks good on it’s own, I’m looking forward to trying this one!

  3. I hate realizing that I’m out of something when I’ve already started a project. Our store is quite close, but it sort of sets the re-set button when that happens. I think I’d like the plain version as much as the dressy version, actually. It’s nice to have snacking cake around sometimes. It’s interesting how many people compared this to cornbread – the texture is quite similar.

Leave a Reply

