(Fluted) Carrot-Tangerine Cake with Tangerine Glaze

IMG_0830

I am wondering if I am the only one that thought a carrot-tangerine cake sounded like a strange combination??  I mean, I would never put those two together…ever..but one thing I have learned from this blogging/baking experience is that everything in these cookbooks is worth a try…even if it sounds strange.

Basically, this is a butter cake with fresh tangerine flavoring and carrots for coloring.  I am not sure the carrots did anything else other than give the cake specs of color, but I could be wrong.  I opted to add the tangerine glaze, which was amazing.

My tasters and I were all in agreement that we were skeptical, but this was the tastiest, moistest cake we  could remember having in a long time.  It was so good I can see it being a requested dessert.  I am not sure I would go through the grating of the carrot again though.  I would probably just not add that in and call mine a Tangerine Cake. 🙂

 

 

15 thoughts on “(Fluted) Carrot-Tangerine Cake with Tangerine Glaze

  1. I thought it’d be an odd combination, too. What threw me off more was tasting the tangerine in the cake, but seeing the carrot slices. In the end, like you I thought this was one of the tastiest cakes I’ve had in a while.

Leave a Reply

