Stained Glass Cookies

IMG_0643

Cue music…”It is the most..wonderful time..of the..year”…and the busiest too!  I love to bake…as we all do who are in this baking group.  🙂

I anxiously await the “assignment” each month wondering what we will be cooking up.  Being pressed for time, these Stained Glass Cookies were an interesting one: basically sugar cookies with crushed up Lifesavers in the middle creating a “stained glass”.  They looked super cool when you hold them up to the light, but just on a plate; not so much.

To be honest, these were a bit messy, time consuming, tasty; although not as tasty as a regular sugar cookie with icing…and my tasters for the most part thought they were a weird combination.  I heard back from a few that it was either like eating a sticky, chewy cookie or that they ate around the candy part and sucked on that after eating the cookie…so what it the point?

This is what I learned:

  • You can use a hammer, ziplock baggie, and cutting board in place of a mortar and pestle
  • Your arm can get quite tired pulverizing 5 different colors of Lifesavers
  • The pulverized Lifesavers are sticky and messy

IMG_0633

IMG_0637

  • I did like the dough, it was easy to work with!
  • Filling in the cutouts with the pulverized candy was a messy job!
  • The cookies look best when held up to a light
  • For the most part, my tasters thought they were an odd combination

I had higher hopes for these than what they actually came through to be.  Like always, the new recipe was fun to try out, but for this one, I won’t be repeating it. I will just stick to my Grandma’s iced sugar cookie recipe.  🙂

IMG_0640IMG_0646

 

8 thoughts on “Stained Glass Cookies

  1. Yours look gorgeous but you confirmed what I have been wondering about the candy in the cookies. I may skip the candy and maybe just pipe some royal icing instead. We will see.

  2. That’s too bad your tasters didn’t like them and you weren’t a fan of the dough. I am glad I made them with my students because I think they are probably better suited to little tasters 😉 I loved the dough actually and will be using it again, rolled out a bit thicker next time. Yours are so beautiful – well done!

Leave a Reply

