Chocolate-Covered Toffee Breakups

IMG_0394

Our recipe on this one starts out, “This Chocolate-Covered, Nut-Studded Toffee might be as close as you can get to a Heath Bar without being sued for some kind of trademark infringement”.  I told this to my husband and I could tell he was skeptical; after all he is a Heath Bar lover.  I was thinking to myself though, every single recipe we have made from our Baking Chez Moi Cookbook has been a homerun so I was betting on success.

I was encouraged that this toffee does not require that I am a pro candy maker, only that I have a candy thermometer. Check!

There are only a few steps to this recipe which is always a good thing!

  • Cook up the toffee, add the coarsely chopped almonds and spread on a buttered parchment paper lined pan.

IMG_0387

  • Cool
  • Melt your chocolate.  I used dark chocolate since I thought that would pair well with the sea salt.
  • Pour half of your chocolate on one side of the toffee and spread.  Sprinkle with chopped almonds and flip.
  • Pour the remaining melted chocolate on the toffee and spread.  Sprinkle with chopped almonds and sea salt.
  • Chill for 30 minutes and then break apart.

We didn’t get to taste this the night I made it, so instead my husband took a few pieces with him to work the next morning.  I get a text…and I quote:

“That recipe is unbelievable.  Way better than a Heath Bar!  Definitely a keeper!”

Yes, that made my day! 🙂

Everyone that has tried these has LOVED them!…like…raved about them!  I have already been asked to make them again for the upcoming holidays.

Yay, for great recipes that are also easy!!

7 thoughts on “Chocolate-Covered Toffee Breakups

  1. My husband (and I) agreed that it was delicious. Your husband will be the talk of the office with these delicious treats!

Leave a Reply

