Tiger Cakes

IMG_0299

I am not sure I understand why these are called Tiger Cakes…the recipe says it is because there are flecks of chocolate striping the cake but you only see them if you don’t opt to add the “dipped in ganache” step…who would want to skip that step??  Not me!

My daughter thinks  a better name, at least for my cakes, would be “Zebra Cakes”  since I took the “dipped in ganache” step a little farther and used some of my white melting chocolate left over from my chocolate strawberries this summer.  I have to agree. 🙂

This batter was a little different from any I can remember.  The main ingredients are almond four, egg whites, but you don’t whip them, and quite a lot of butter.  You bake them in a mini muffin tin so it makes 24 cakes.  The only thing I did not like about this recipe was how stubborn they were to remove from the pan.  I made sure to grease liberally after seeing some helpful hints and they were still not that easy to dislodge.  They came out in one piece but it gets old to have to work so hard at getting them released when there are 24 of them.

That problem aside, these were a fantastic surprise.  They don’t look like brownies, but they sure do taste like them; very chocolatey!  ALL of my tasters loved these….one said they were “DELICIOSO!!!!”  and my dad said he was needing to expand his top 10 to a top 25 category.  This “Baking Chez Moi” cookbook has been hit after hit.  I just love baking these new recipes but I have to say it is extra fun when everyone LOVES the result!!

7 thoughts on “Tiger Cakes

Leave a Reply

