Swedish Oatmeal Hardtack

IMG_3019

I feel bad for this recipe…first of all it tells us “it makes you think of last-forever crackers…the kind packed on long voyages more for indestructibility than tastiness.”   The cookbook states not with these but honestly how can a cracker stand up to following the White Chocolate Patty Cake or the Apricot Raspberry Tart???  They just didn’t have a chance…these weren’t a winner with my tasters…but that is ok, there are new ones to try right around the corner.

What I found more interesting this past week was looking at where in the world my blog hits are coming from.  Our “Baking With Julia” and “Baking Chez Moi” are international baking groups but seriously it is so exciting to see where all of us are baking from!  I love knowing that as I am baking here in my home others are doing the same exact thing all over the world!!  I love hearing how bakers have to substitute ingredients either because it is just not in season where they live or not available.  I love being a part of this group!

Check out the list:

  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Puerto Rico
  • Poland
  • Finland
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Malaysia
  • United Kingdom
  • Germany
  • Saudia Arabia
  • Australia
  • Serbia
  • Iceland
  • France
  • Libya
  • Ireland
  • Sweden
  • Philippines
  • Mexico
  • Italy
  • Singapore
  • Israel
  • Spain
  • Austria
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • India
  • Hong Kong
  • Norway
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Brazil
  • Greece
  • Pakistan
  • Thailand
  • Argentina
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela
  • Netherlands
  • South Korea
  • Turkey
  • Russia
  • Morocco
  • Egypt
  • Luxembourg
  • Sri Lanka
  • Indonesia
  • Qator
  • Latvia
  • Nigeria
  • Estonia
  • Taiwan
5 thoughts on “Swedish Oatmeal Hardtack

  1. OK, these are pretry plain after the last couple of recipes, but I liked them. Yours look really nice, too! That’s quite a list of international visitors…You’ve made me curious to look at mine, too!

  2. I will agree that they are no match for cake! Although that might be a good thing in my case because I just started a cleanse this week. I’m not sure I could handle cake being in the house. How did you get that texture on the edges? and so golden? They look great!

    • The good thing for me is I don’t actually like most of the desserts I make…I just really enjoy baking and seeing my family and friends have fun tasting the different recipes. 🙂 For the edges…not sure even what it is called…but the ruffle wheel used for pie crusts gave it that “cracker” edge. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

