Chocolate Cranberry Brownies

2015-06-04 15.46.35

Busy times here at our house…we had two kids move back from school for the summer…with much more than what they left with!!… our first college graduation (YAY)…that was a quick four years, graduation party, and left the next day for a family vacation before our college graduate began her full time job…phew!  All fun but what an exhausting two weeks.

Since we were traveling I had to sit out the fruit foccacia but I will have to tell you all, I did make the Nutella Buttons and Limoncello Cupcakes again for the graduation party and they were a huge success!  Those are great recipes!

This week’s recipe was “Chocolate Cherry Brownies” which gave the option for dried cranberries in place of the cherries…I went the cranberry route.  Personally, I was thinking why mess with a good brownie recipe by adding fruit into it but that is just me. 🙂  My fruit dessert loving tasters were all over this one….and they loved it.

This is a simple, straight forward, one bowl type of recipe.  It is worth noting I added an additional 8 min to the cooking time and still wonder if they were slightly undercooked.  They turned out like a brownie but slightly fudge-like.  Like I said earlier, I wasn’t too hip on adding cranberries to the brownie but I have to admit it was way better than I thought it would be.  I actually ate it and thought it was good…would I prefer a plain one, yes but this was good.

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Cranberry Brownies

  1. I’ve always been a sucker for chocolate and cherries, so this was an easy sell for me! Yours look great!

  2. I’m normally in your camp–why mess with chocolate?–but I actually kind of liked the addition of sour cherries. They cut through some of the richness.

  3. Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation (and cheers to her for having a full time job lined up, too)!! I agree that while I wouldn’t have baked a brownie with fruit in it on my own, these were tasty….I like the base recipe enough to try leaving out the plumped cherries and using toasted nuts instead next time.

  4. I guess I never met a Dorie brownie recipe that I didn’t like. They are all so different but quite wonderful. Generally, I’m a fan of classic brownies with walnuts but do like a change now and then.

Leave a Reply

