Rhubarb Upside-Down Brown Sugar Cake

IMG_1935

There are many, many things I have learned through my 3+ years of baking with Tuesdays with Dorie, but this recipe makes me remember one of the more funny ones…what is rhubarb and where do I find it!!  I remember the first time we baked with it, long ago, I had to ask the produce guy at Sprouts what it was and where I could find it.  This time I was much more confident…at least with locating it. 🙂

This is a rather easy recipe…especially considering the one we just tried out…Cardinal Slice!!  Two steps really…prepare the rhubarb and mix up the batter.  I think the hardest part was not wanting to overcook the rhubarb in the sugar since the recipe said “it can be a little tricky…heat it too much, and you’ll get mush, so keep an eye on it and be gentle when you toss and turn the fruit”.

All in all, the recipe came together with no problems but I think half of my tasters were underwhelmed with this one.  A few LOVED it but it was not a universal feeling.  I am thinking it was the rhubarb…I guess we are not a “rhubarb loving group”…maybe with an apple topping it would have gone over better since everyone thought the cake part was great.  Can’t love them all…but the fun is in the trying and a bonus when you do!

IMG_1934

8 thoughts on “Rhubarb Upside-Down Brown Sugar Cake

  1. You may not have cared much for it, but It looks as though you cooked your rhubarb perfectly. I thought the cake portion was delicious too – it would be great with apples.

  2. Your cake looks perfect. I’m sorry it wasn’t a winner for you. My cake wasn’t as beautiful but I think I benefitted from the low expectations of the tasters!

  3. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who was new to rhubarb. Luckily I found it in the grocery last week and held onto it so I didn’t have to search this week when it came time to bake. The rhubarb didn’t go over well at my house either. We’re hoping for chocolate again soon.

  4. Rhubarb is one of those things people either love a lot or don’t care for. I’m in the first camp, so I was very happy with this cake. I think it would work well with many other fruits, too.

Leave a Reply

