Granola Energy Bars

photog

Since I am a granola/granola bar eater, I was looking forward to this recipe.  It is one of those recipes that you can alter any of the ingredients as long as you keep the amounts consistent.  I opted to keep it close to the original using almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkins seeds and dried cranberries.  The only thing I changed was to substitute mini chocolate chips for the coconut. 🙂  Dorrie had commented that using brown rice syrup is the key to binding all the ingredients together. I thought that would be hard to find but my local produce store carried it.

Super simple recipe; heat the syrup and butter and mix all ingredients together.  I don’t know what I was thinking but I had pictured my bars looking like the Quaker granola bars with the mini chocolate chips all intact.  Mine melted…

I was expecting a chewy bar with mini chocolate chips and it turned out more like a crunchy, chocolate looking granola bar.  Maybe they were over cooked but I followed the recipe.  I will be curious if others had a chewy or crunchy bar.  I was really hoping these would be great, but they fell short for me.  Such a bummer…but oh well, onto the next recipe!

15 thoughts on “Granola Energy Bars

  1. I had basically the same issues! I think next time I will let BOTH the syrup and the oats cool before mixing them together, and will likely undercook them a little as well. Then hopefully they’ll be chewy, and studded with chocolate chips. Do you think you’d try making these again?

  2. Oh, I’m sorry these were disappointing for you. Mine were softish and chewy so I am wondering what causes the differences in that…others found them as you did as well so would be interesting to figure all that out. Yours certainly look nice, and I am regretting not venturing out in the cold snow ice to get some pumpkin seeds as they look so delicious poking out of yours. 🙂

  3. Melted chocolate sounds good to me!. Mine were quite crunchy at first but became chewier with time (and storage in an airtight container) but I didn’t mind the texture.

  4. The chocolate melted in mine as well. Makes them look more healthy 😀. The first time I made these I baked for 30 min and they came out crunchy the second time I baked them for 25 min and they came out sticky and chewy. I used golden syrup.

  5. I’m sorry these didn’t turn out the way you wanted. I had chewy bars but didn’t end up using brown rice syrup, I didn’t have any so I substituted honey from our neighbors instead and it turned out lovely. I added my chocolate chips at the same time I added the dried fruit and they didn’t melt before baking.

Leave a Reply

