Cranberry Crackle Tart

photo 2

So this one was a surprise!

I was not really into this recipe and neither were my tasters after I described it…not really cranberry people I guess and it seemed to be an odd combination.  I have baked with dried cranberries, but never fresh.  As I contemplated baking it or not, I came to the conclusion that this recipe is exactly why I joined BWJ in the first place…to try new things/recipes that you would never try on your own.

The recipe is actually very easy:

  1. I chose to make the sweet tart dough…curious how the other choice, galette dough worked for others. Using parchment paper you roll out the dough and fit a pie pan, prick the bottom, freeze for 30 min, and then pre-bake.
  2. After the crust has cooled, you spread jam over the bottom.  Seemed like an odd addition at the time but oh wow…it really added something.
  3. Meanwhile, with a mixer you beat two egg whites with sugar until shiny.  Gently fold in the raw cranberries and fill the crust.
  4. Bake for about an hour…that is it…super simple.

This is where I was surprised…I did not have high hopes and was even unsure if I would send out the text to my tasters.  This is a hard tart to cut and still make the slices look pretty.  As I was cutting and arranging pieces, I tried a piece of one and was amazed.  It was good, really good.  I tried another bite and thought, hey maybe I am a cranberry person. 🙂  I sent out the texts and let everyone know that this was worth trying.

These are a couple of the texts I received back:

“Soooo good!!! Kinda like eating a tart, pie, cookie all in one. The tastes all go together really well”

“The cranberry tart was amazing!!!”

I guess we all learned something from this recipe…you have to bake the new recipes and expect an adventure…you never know, it just might surprise you!  Can’t believe I am saying it but, this one is a keeper. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Cranberry Crackle Tart

  1. Wow, it turned out great. I had the same misgivings as I’m not much of a cranberry fan but it was worth it since my husband really liked it and I’ve never made anything like this before.

  2. Oh yay! This makes me less apprehensive making it for TG. I love cranberries, but not sure if the rest of the crowd is into meringue much. But I thought it would be a nice light dessert after the big meal. Your tart looks beautifully fluffy! This is how I hope mine turns out.

  3. Always fun when you find a new favorite…and I agree, that’s why we join groups like this, to take us beyond our normal range of comfort! I have made so many things I never thought I would and learned so much. Your post was such fun hearing about your discovery! 🙂

  4. This tart is lovely! I wish I had some fresh cranberries, but have to sub with dried cranberries instead. It turned out great. I would not have baked tart like this too, that’s the great thing about joining a baking group, makes me bake out of my comfort zone!

  5. After baking all the way through Dorie’s “Baking from my home to yours”, I have tremendous trust in her recipes. Even when feeling somewhat skeptical, I always think I’ll be happily surprised. And I agree: this was a very happy, delicious surprise!

  6. This was a hit for us, too. The cranberry and meringue balance each other perfectly and the jam marries it all together with the crust. Loved it! Yours is lovely.

Leave a Reply

