Palets de Dames, Lille Style

 

photonov3

So here it is; our first “Baking Chez Moi” recipe.  It is all very exciting for us bakers.  I am committed to finishing the Baking with Julia cookbook just for the accomplishment of it, but oh, to get a new cookbook…and one that has so many recipes that I can’t wait to try…gets you excited!! 🙂

This first one, is a simple one; both in taste and baking.   Palets de Dames are an easy cake’ish cookie, resembling a top or open parasol, finished with a sweet icing.  I found them to taste like a thick sugar cookie…right up my alley!  Our cookbook tells us they are found in every patisserie in the northern French city of Lille which borders Belgium.  For some reason I assumed the pointed part of the cookie would be the frosted side since they wouldn’t sit well otherwise, but now that I am looking more closely at the picture in the cookbook, it looks like I might have picked the wrong side.  I guess the flat side should be frosted…who knew haha!  I don’t think it matters which side, they tasted great!

The cookies consist of butter, flour, sugar, vanilla and eggs.  The batter is a very soft dough, resembling more of cake batter than cookie dough.  The batter is put in the fridge to chill for a minimum of one hour. The chilled dough is rolled into balls and then baked until set and slightly browned.  The final step is dipping the cookie in icing made of confectioners sugar, milk, and lemon juice.  (After dipping a few, I found it much easier to use a knife and spread the icing on)

photonov2

Most all of my tasters loved these cookies with the exception of my husband who thought they were a little bland.  I actually loved them.  This recipe is a keeper…easy and tasted great! 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Palets de Dames, Lille Style

  1. Ok seriously- yours turned out PERFECT ! Great job and off to a great start. I am working along with my mom (aka Nana) to complete our Around My French Table adventures and we are both happy to start BCM as well ~

  2. Your cookies look fabulous! I have been an on again…off again poster for TWD! However, I am still cooking through French Fridays! I’m excited and happy to start this new adventure with Baking Chez Moi! Looking forward to baking along with you! Happy baking!

  3. Glad to see you on this book too.
    You perfectly summed up my sentiments – I am going to keep on with BWJ for the commitment (and challenge of some of the recipes) but am really looking forward to this book.

    Time to stock up on the flour! (As if I don’t already keep a 10 bag in reserve at all times…)

  4. I’ve been pretty sporadic with Baking with Julia, but I’m really excited to be baking along for Baking Chez Nous. I really loved this little cookie – glad you did, too!

  5. Your cookies look lovely, and like you, I frosted the wrong side as well, so apparently I’m going to need to work on my baking skills and my reading skills…lol! That’s the fun thing about baking in a group like this, we get to see everyone’s efforts and learn from one another and our successes and mistakes!

Leave a Reply

