Alsatian Onion Tart

photo 2-2

I am so glad to be back and baking again!…I think my tasters are glad that I am back too!!  What a wild couple of months…started with moving my youngest into college and then a whirlwind of traveling….first to the New England states and then a trip to Miami Beach.

NH

 

photo

All fun, and all good…but I am glad to get back to baking!  Such exciting news too…we are adding a new cookbook to use as we finish the Baking with Julia.  This one is called Baking Chez Moi, also by Dorie Greenspan…thus the baking group “Tuesdays with Dorie”.  I am SO excited to start this new cookbook…totally up my alley…lots of chocolate and lots of apples!!  Yay!

photo 2

 

This Alsatian Onion Tart was a good one to get back into the swing of things again…very easy and quite tasty!  There were three basic steps:

Prepare the Pastry:

The recipe suggested using a lid to make the round tart.  Very easy…then I used the scrap to make a rectangle piece as well.

photo 1-1

 

photo 2-1Make the Topping:

Diced onion simmered in chicken broth…cooled and then add heavy cream and pepper

photo 1

Oh my gosh these onions made me cry!  Super strong today!

Assemble and Bake:

Pierce the dough liberally, then layer the onion and bacon

photo 1-2

photo 2-2

I wasn’t sure how this was going to taste but it smelled great cooking.  I tried a piece and it was really good!  I would say this would be a great addition to a brunch…it would go really well with eggs!  I sent out my text that the tart was ready and since it had been awhile, everyone was excited to try something new.

I love getting the reviews:

“Thumbs up!!! We really like it!  Rilee ate a piece on the way back from your house. We just had ours!!  Thank you”

“Just a note to let you know I had my bacon/onion tart for dinner!  It’s GREAT!! Really good!”

This is one of those recipes that I would totally make again if I had the need.  It was very good!  It’s a keeper.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Alsatian Onion Tart

Leave a Reply

