Baking Powder Biscuits

photobis2

I am bummed I missed the Poppy Seed Torte, but it wasn’t because I didn’t try!  Even though we are not big poppy seed or apricot eaters in this house I still wanted to make it.  I even figured out where to buy bulk poppy seeds!…two full cups!   I think I would have taken the stores whole supply if I had bought the full amount though so I opted to halve the recipe.   I came home ready to bake and very soon realized I had once again failed to “fully” read the recipe.  I needed to “grind” the poppy seeds.  Well how do you do that?!!  We don’t drink coffee so I don’t even have a coffee bean grinder.  Since I had waited too close to the deadline to figure something out, Poppy Seed Torte did not happen.  I did see the posts, and I guess we missed out…everyone loved it!  Who knew?!!

photobis

I was really happy the baking powder biscuits were so easy…5 ingredients, a mix, a knead, and 12 minutes baking time.  I even opted to “brush with butter”!  Super easy.  I can’t say I am a huge biscuit fan but I did try them and they tasted like…biscuits!  If I needed to make biscuits, I would use this recipe but I just don’t see myself making them again. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Baking Powder Biscuits

  1. Woah! Your biscuits looks fantastic! Can I just slide some bacon, egg, and cheese in those bad boys? 😀 Sorry to hear you have so many poppy seeds. Maybe you can try growing them? Who knows, maybe you’ll get some flowers. Huzzah!

  2. Wow! What are you going to do with all those poppy seeds? I like biscuits in general, and do make them, usually in winter to go with soups and stews. But mine did not turn out as I had hoped this time.

Leave a Reply

