Buttermilk Scones

photo1b

People are still talking about that Chocolate Mascarpone Cheesecake!! ย That was definitely a keeper given how many requests I have had…both for the recipe and for more of the cheesecake! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ย It is always fun when you find a good one.

This month’s first recipe is Buttermilk Scones….pretty straight forward, easy recipe. ย I have a great Chocolate Chip Scone recipe that I make on special occasions so for once I knew how to make the recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

There was only one main difference:

  • On my chocolate chip scones I drizzle a powdered sugar icing on top
  • The buttermilk scones have you baste on melted butter and top with granulated sugar before you bake.

I wasn’t sure how this would turn out but surprisingly that was my favorite part. ย It made a great, crunchy “crust” like topping. ย I liked that!

I think this recipe is good but, given that my usual recipe uses regular milk which I normally have on hand, I don’t think I would be making these again. ย I might use that butter and sugar crust though! ๐Ÿ™‚

photo1a

20 thoughts on “Buttermilk Scones

  1. you should try keeping buttermilk in the fridge-it lasts a lot longer than milk and can be used in so many things. i never have milk in the fridge but i always have buttermilk. your scones came out picture perfect!

  2. I almost always have buttermilk – using it for pancakes almost every weekend. You can also freeze it in whatever quantities you think you might use… I do this often. Just an idea for you! I liked these a lot. You are right, the crunchy topping was great!

  3. Using a butter and sugar crust? This is funny ๐Ÿ™‚ Agree though – the crust is a-w-e-s-o-m-e! I am salivating thinking about that choco chip scone you are mentioning. Please post the recipe when you make them.

    • The Chocolate Chip Scones recipe comes from Gooseberry Patch Sweet and Simple Cookbook. I don’t think the recipe is anything that special/different, but they taste delicious!
      2c flour
      2T sugar
      2t baking powder
      1/2t baking soda
      1/4t salt
      1/2c chilled butter
      1/2c mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
      1 egg, beaten
      1/2c milk
      Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt; cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Toss in the chocolate chips. Mix in egg and milk; stir until just moistened. Form dough into a ball; knead for 10 strokes. Pat into an 8in circle; cut into 6 wedges. (I make 8) Space each wedge about one inch apart on a greased baking sheet; bake at 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes. Remove to wire rack to cool; drizzle with icing.
      Icing
      1c powdered sugar
      1/4t vanilla
      1T milk

  4. I’m sorry to see that you won’t make them again… but then, we all have our favourite methods. They look really flakey, though! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Your scones have such great height! Recently buttermilk has become a standard in my fridge and I never regret having it in there especially for pancakes and biscuits.

Leave a Reply

