Onion Bialys

photo4

This was a new one for me.  I have never had an onion bialys…wasn’t sure what one was.  The picture looked a lot like a bagel but without the hole in the middle.  That area was to be filled in with a sautéed onion mixture.  Sounded yummy to me.

The recipe starts out with making a sponge…surprise, surprise!  This one was a little different from the ones we have made before in that it had a few more ingredients including sautéed onions and optional black pepper, which I included.

This rested for 1.5 hours.  Add flour/salt and rest for another 1/5 hours.  Not too long in comparison to other bread recipes.

After the rising, you work with the dough forming 12 bialys.  This dough was very easy to work with, not sticky at all.  I found that I didn’t need dust the towels.  One thing that did concern me was when the recipe compared these to the Oasis Naan.  I was not successful with making that “flatbread” flat.  I made sure I was so diligent with using the fork to prick the center…doing it all three times to ensure they would turn out with a well in the middle and round on the edges.  I filled the center area with the sauteed onion mixture and put them into the oven.

These smell SO good while they are baking!  Just plain bread baking smells wonderful but add in the sautéed onion and it makes your mouth water.  I couldn’t wait too long after removing them from the oven to taste one.  They were delicious…BUT looked very much like a bagel.  Seems I have issues with using a fork to preserve an indentation.  Thankfully the look of these bialys had nothing to do with the taste!! 🙂  Everyone loved these!  If I made them again, I would make more onion mixture for on top of the bialys.  Even though it gets a little burned, it is so delicious and really adds to the flavor!  Maybe if my indentation had held it wouldn’t have burned. 😉

photo3

photo2

8 thoughts on “Onion Bialys

  1. I had the same result. Very tasty baked good that looked a lot like a bagel. Oh well. It’s better than nasty tasting baked goods, right? I’m glad your family enjoyed them.

  2. I had the same issue with the holes the first time around, so I poked the dickens out of the second batch. And you’re right, when the onions are settled into the indentation, they don’t burn as much. Still tastes awesome tho! I had the benefit of having eating many bialys in my time, so I knew I’d want plenty of onions and poppy seeds. I think I doubled the amount called for, and that seemed to be just about right.

  3. Same thing happened to me in the first batch, they didn’t come up flat but then flattened them better and I have to say… they were good both ways but maybe, If I had to choose one, I would go with the one that looked like yours, so good!!

Leave a Reply

