Baked Yogurt Tart

DSCF7331

I feel like I have the pie crust recipe down…we have used it a few times now. Something I have learned…it is best to use pie weights or beans to help keep the pie crust shape…took me a few times to catch on to that one but I got it now. 🙂

DSCF7317

DSCF7320

Since the recipe gave a couple of variations on the fruit to use, I left it up to my son…berries it was…so I used blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries and ended up with quite the patriotic looking dessert.  He said it looked very gourmet. 🙂

The filling was super easy to mix up and I had fun creating a fruit masterpiece on top.  I did find that I had to cook mine about 20 min longer than the recipe suggested.  I wasn’t sure if I had overcooked it, but it was still really giggly at the 35 min mark.  It seemed like the time was right by the consistency when we cut it.

DSCF7323

DSCF7333As you know, I have a faithful group of tasters whom I send out texts to alert them it is a baking day and ask if they are the interested in the new creation.  Funny story…apparently I was in a rush and didn’t check my text before I sent it.  One of them went out as I am making a “BEET tart” instead of BERRY tart.  That taster wasn’t sure about that particular concoction but said that is the great thing about your baking group…you get to try things we would never think of trying.  We got a good laugh out of that one!!…AND they ended up loving the BERRY tart…darn auto correct. haha!!  In fact, everyone who tasted this one really enjoyed it…the only advice was to add more berries next time.  Not my kind of dessert but I will take their word for it…its a keeper!

8 thoughts on “Baked Yogurt Tart

  1. I agree with your son, your tart does look very gourmet. I think many of us found the tart took longer than the recipe says it will.

  2. Your son is right, it does look very gourmet! Looks wonderful. This was a good tart. I too think I have figured out the pastry dough making. So pleased that it turned out! And yep, it is a keeper. I like that it was low fat (except for the pastry!! Heehee).

  3. Such a lovely tart! I think this may be better if the berries were stirred into the filling – I found it rather bland myself. What a great idea to send a taste text!

Leave a Reply

