Rustic Potato Loaves

DSCF7057

This potato bread was a really straight forward recipe!

  • Boil potatoes
  • Mash the potatoes
  • Mix in the remaining ingredients.
  • Allow the dough to rise for two short 20 min periods

If you would like the recipe check out Dawn’s blog.

Got the dough ready…got through all of the short rises…seemed like I was going to sail through this recipe.  Went to shape my loaves, and oh wow!  Then everything fell apart…literally!  My dough was SO flimsy..like hardly any substance at all. I really could not work with the dough at all to make it into any kind of a “torpedo”.  I was really concerned that the bread might not work out but I figured what was there to lose.  I shaped them the best I could and put them in the oven.

They smelled good and surprisingly looked good when I took them out of the oven!  Not quite the “torpedo” shape but at this point I was just glad we had something that looked like crusty bread. 🙂

DSCF7054

We let the bread rest and then cut into it.  I don’t think any of us in my family had ever had potato bread so it was a new experience for us.  Interesting taste!  The bread was really fresh, light, and had a nice crusty exterior.  I am not sure I really liked the flavor, but my family enjoyed it.  My daughter was home from college and was able to partake as a “taster” so that was nice!  She usually has to hear about the TWD adventures in my kitchen and not get to experience it.   Overall, everyone was happy.  All of my tasting groups reported back that the bread was delicious!  My dad even texted me saying he loved it and he was putting in a order for two loaves.  I would say the bread was a success!  I guess the problems I had with the dough had no bearing on taste! 🙂  Always good to persevere and just see how it turns out in the end!  I will be curious to see if anyone else had the same issues with the dough.

Update:  I ate the few mocha chip cookies I saved for after Easter…they were DELICIOUS!!  🙂

10 thoughts on “Rustic Potato Loaves

  1. Your bread has the look of a really good french bread! I made rolls and one loaf. The rolls were delicious and my bread though funny looking is in the freezer. We’ll see what it looks like when we cut into it later this week. Beautiful loaf.

  2. Glad to hear that this one was a success. It certainly looks delicious! My dough was a little tough to work with too during the “shaping” but it seemed to come together in the oven.

  3. Gorgeous looking bread! I also made a potato bread for the first time ever and I am in love 🙂 Your dad with placing his order – too cute.
    *Our mocha chip cookies kept their flavor and texture until they finished from the cookie jar – around a week. Not sure why, the apricots became hard to bite into but everything else was fine.

  4. Your bread looks fantastic. I love these loaves!! They were well received in my household. I actually made the recipe twice! And I liked it even more the second time. Can’t wait to try it again with different additions like some of the other TWD’ers.

  5. We’re going to have to do a catch up on the mocha chip cookies some time – they look so good. I was impressed with this loaf, too, and look forward to experimenting with flavours and flour substitutions for future batches.

Leave a Reply

