Foccacia

DSCF6908

I thought this was going to be the disaster foccacia bread the way I started out.

  • didn’t realize on my first read through that you need to have the dough sit for at least 24 hours
  • forgot the dough during the first rise and left it an extra hour and a half
  • had to bring it out of its second rise a few hours early…not quite the 24 hours

Would you believe, even after my little oversights, it still turned out…we still liked the bread.  Since the dough makes three loaves, I went with a Jalapeno/Cheddar, Parmesan, and Sea Salt.  I would have to say if I was to make this again I would not put the 4t of salt in the dough.  It was WAY too salty for my taste.  I was questioning the amount when I put it in, but it is so hard the first time through a recipe to know if you should change something….should have stuck with my insticts!

Although this bread was tasty and I wouldn’t mind making it again, it crossed my mind that this recipe takes a long time and mine did not taste better than I can get at my local produce store.  This is one of those recipes that I think I would rather just buy it than make it…probably not the right thing to say in the baking group, but just not fun enough/or tasty enough for the time it required.  If you would like to check out the recipe and try for yourself check out Sharmini’s blog.

I have to say, it is hard to follow that French Apple Tart which everyone loved and I didn’t care how long it took to make. 🙂

15 thoughts on “Foccacia

  1. Wow, yours got all puffy and airy and nice! I bet that would make some good sandwiches! I wasn’t overly impressed with this one either, and I doubt very much I’ll make it again. But it was certainly interesting to try!

  2. I totally agree that this was just “eh.” Poor bread had to be sandwiched between two showstoppers: french apple tart and boca negra (I’m assuming that’s gonna be amazing). And hey, there’s no shame in buying good bread. Think of it as supporting a local merchant. That’s important too!

  3. Your focaccia rose so nicely. It looks great! I agree about buying it instead. It was a long process. And I think I was happier with the focaccia I tried from the Baked cookbook.

  4. Your bread looks great – I am sure the jalapeno topping was wonderful.
    There are a lot of simpler version out there that are really tasty worth giving a shot 🙂

  5. Though I did like this, it did take too much time. I would only make it again for a special occasion. Mine did not seem too salty – I used Kosher salt. You made a nice looking loaf! I did jalapeño and cheese as well. One of my favorite flavor combinations.

Leave a Reply

