Pizza with Onion Confit

DSCF6786

Happy New Year to my fellow TWD bakers!  It is amazing to think we have almost finished a year of baking together.  I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience!! One thing I have learned this year…the fun is in the “baking journey” not necessarily in loving the end product.  This was certainly the case this go around.   If you would like this recipe, check out Paul’s blog.

Pizza with Onion Confit: Am I the only one who had no idea what “confit” was?

Confit: French in origin meaning “to preserve”. It is a common procedure to intensify the flavor as well as tenderize the texture.

DSCF6787

Ok, now that I had an idea of what I was making…of to chop two pounds of onions.  Seriously, my husband and son were complaining that THEIR eyes…in the other room were burning.  Is that even possible??  Who knew!!

I did have fun making this recipe.

  • Learned what confit was
  • Used fresh thyme for the first time
  • Cooked with red wine
  • Chopped 2lbs of onions and survived
  • Always enjoy the process of making dough

I have to say, I should have known what the end result was going to be with us…as the onion confit was cooking for an hour, with high expectations for something so gourmet…all I could think was that I didn’t really care for the smell of the mixture simmering.  Weird I know…everyone baking this month probably loves making such a gourmet item but I kept thinking I bet my family will love the second pizza…the one with pepperoni and cheese.

Onion Confit cooling to room temperature

DSCF6790

Fresh out of the oven: Pizza with Onion Confit topped with mozzarella

DSCF6793

DSCF6796

There were only three testers available tonight for this recipe…we were all WANTING to like it…I didn’t want to report that we really do have such simple taste as to prefer the second dough made into a pepperoni pizza but that is exactly what has happened.  None of us cared for the flavor of the onion confit.  My husband thought it would have tasted better with less of the confit and add some chicken…maybe he was thinking of a BBQ Chicken Pizza haha.  Anyway, loved the excitement of trying something new but this one will not be happening again at our house. 😉

The prefered basic pepperoni pizza 🙂

DSCF6799

13 thoughts on “Pizza with Onion Confit

  1. We preferred a more “traditional” pizza here too. No pepperoni this time, but my husband requested it for the dough we have leftover! Not all gourmet foods are winners! 😉 Even so, your pizzas look fabulous!

  2. Both your pizzas look great. I thought the smell of the onions cooking was real strong too. For my second pizza I did a bbq chicken with the rest of the confit and goat cheese. I liked that one better.

  3. Love your pizzas.
    I enjoyed the onion pizza but I found the olives and goat cheese feta I added really made a difference. I couldn’t have eaten it without their saltiness to set off the sweetness of the onions.

  4. It is a good dough and while I enjoyed the pizza I don’t think I will trade in my fav – TONS of cheese and sausage/mushroom. I would have to agree with your Boys.

  5. Totally agree with you- the onion confit seemed not only too sweet but too much! It may be a useful dish with other recipes, and I appreciated the suggestion that another poster had to freeze it. Your pizza does look scrumptious, but the basic pizza recipe wins again!!

Leave a Reply

