Berry Galette

I am thinking that I am probably not alone wondering what a ‘Galette‘ is or how to pronounce it…in fact no one in my family had heard of it but after making this…we know now, and I am sure they will be requesting a ‘Galette’ often! 🙂

The recipe starts out, “This, as heirloom cookbooks used to say, is a keeper. (I liked that phrase :)) It is called a galette because the filling is piled in the center and the crust is flat, open-faced, and free form.”  The recipe called for making the galette mixed berry but suggested that any stone fruit, apples, or pears would work fine.  Since the dough would make 2 galettes, I figured I would make one berry and one apple so I might like it. 🙂  If you would like the recipe, check out our host blogs by Lisa and Andrea.

I wasn’t sure which mixed berries I would use so while at the store I found strawberries and blueberries…since the blueberries didn’t go over that well in our house with the last pie recipe I thought I would go with only strawberry. I got  home and read the recipe more thoroughly and saw that it clearly stated using strawberries alone is not a good idea because they become too watery…great!  So, what do I have that we can improvise with…I ended up mixing the strawberries with nectarines that we had….they worked with blueberries in the last pie, figured it would work ok in this recipe too! 🙂

Since I love apples, the extra one was made with apples, cinnamon, and a little brown sugar…yum!

So far, so good…really easy!  These smelled great while they were cooking and we could hardly wait while they cooled down a bit.  After my last pie experience, I was a little nervous about how these would taste….they were ABSOLUTELY wonderful!  We all LOVED them…totally a keeper!!  We all preferred the apple/cinnamon combination…SO tastey and so light.  I am not a pie eater and I loved this recipe.

12 thoughts on “Berry Galette

  1. Perfect cookbook introduction for your blog. I had no idea that phrase was from “heirloom cookbooks.” Did you? The galettes look delicious. I will definitely be making them again too!

  2. Very nice photos! I’m sure the strawberries and nectarine was a very good combo! Both your galettes look lovely!! We really enjoyed this one, too! I have made galettes before with just my favorite pie crust…I love the ease and rustic look of them!

  3. Oh yum! This looks delicious. I like the title of your blog. My Mom is a food scientist, so when I ask that question I always get very specific feedback. My Dad usually is a good judge of a thumbs up recipe too (or a keeper recipe).

Leave a Reply

