Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Well it finally happened… I went rogue on this one…Hazelnut Biscotti became Chocolate Chip Biscotti….and I would have to say it was a great choice! 🙂  If you would like the recipe for Hazelnut Biscotti check out our host blogs: Homemade and Wholesome and Baking and Boys.

I don’t drink coffee so my experience with biscotti is pretty limited but I would have to say these were really delicious!  I dipped them in milk. 🙂  There were two things I changed up in the recipe…I added the chocolate chips for the hazelnuts and then I just used more vanilla to offset the liqueur I wasn’t using.  There was a great vanilla taste that came through in the cookies…loved it!

Mixed up the batter and realized they were not kidding that the dough would be sticky.  I didn’t think flouring my hands was going to make one bit of difference so I just used my spatula and placed the dough into logs on the parchment paper…I wasn’t sure if this would work but actually it worked brilliantly and I would suggest it to anyone who had trouble with sticky dough.

The next part…cutting the cookies made me happy because I was able to use my new knife again already…the one I bought for the strawberry cake!! 🙂  Having the right tools really does help!

I was afraid my biscotti would be thin since I didn’t make the log the way I was instructed to,  but it seemed to work out just fine.  I would really recommend using the spatula to plop it into a log…so much easier and now I know it works. 🙂

These really were delicious…my daughter, parents, and my “tasting” friend all said they were great with their tea/coffee.  Actually everyone I shared them with said they were great and loved the chocolate chips so I would have to say I would make them just the way I did the next time… these are a keeper! 😉

18 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Biscotti

  1. Good thinking on adding some chocolate to these- they were so dry they needed something! I don’t drink coffee either, but I think maybe crumbling these on ice cream might be a good way to use these! 🙂

  2. I liked the texture of these. I went with the hazelnuts, but I’m glad to see ideas from a rogue baker. Your chocolate chip version looks great. I am enjoying dunking these in my tea. Yum!

  3. Isn’t it wonderful using a new tool – it feels like you’ve justified the purchase a little more each time you use it!

Leave a Reply

