French Strawberry Cake

I was very excited to tackle the French Strawberry Cake and leave my Oasis Naan behind ha ha!  This recipe was intriguing because I didn’t know what a genoise batter was and it allowed me to buy a couple of new kitchen gadgets which is always fun. 🙂  If you would like the recipe for French Strawberry Cake you can check out our host blogs…Sophia’s Sweets and Allison of Sleep Love Think Dine.  I made this cake for our Father’s Day celebration…made two of them to make sure everyone would be able to have a piece.  It is getting to be a tradition as to “which” new recipe I will be bringing for them to try out!! 🙂  Since I am not a huge fan of whipped cream, I made one the way it is suggested all covered in whipped cream and one more rustic, with whipped cream only on the top and inside the layers.

So, I had to look up what a genoise batter was and thought I would share for those of you who also don’t know…”Génoise is a basic building block of much French pâtisserie and is used for making several different types of cake.  A génoise cake (pronounced [ʒenwaːz]; Genoese cake or Genovese cake) is an Italian sponge cake named after the city of Genoa and closely associated with Italian and French cuisine that does not use any chemical leavening, instead using air suspended in the batter during mixing to give volume to the cake. It is a whole-egg cake, unlike some other sponge cakes that beat their yolks and whites of the eggs separately”.  So light and airy!

The recipe sounded intimidating to me…it even warns you when the batter is at it’s most fragile state.   I have to say, I followed the directions exactly and had no problems.  I quite enjoyed the new process.  The recipe calls for beating the eggs for 4-5 minutes…I found it to be more like 15 minutes but I did acheive the “ribbon” they were describing! 🙂  Check out the air bubbles in the batter!

To keep the air and not overfold in the flour, I sifted the flour over the batter.  I felt this really helped to keep the batter from deflating.

I have to admit I was very skeptical that I was going to be able to cut this pretty thin cake into thirds!!!  I froze the cake and then used my new serrated baking knife…wow what a difference the right tool can make!  It was a challenge but I can’t imagine how I would have done it with a regular knife.  Look at the air in the cake!!!  I thought this looked amazing. 🙂

 

I worked on the strawberries: adding the sugar and letting them sit….and then the whipped cream.

Now to the assembling of the three layer cake!!…got to use my second new gadget…an offset knife! 🙂  Now I wonder how I never had one before…worth it!

I had so much fun making this recipe and it was a total hit at our family celebration!  My niece told me it was “the best cake I have ever eaten!”…which I told her I would just have to include in my blog!  Most people had two pieces so I would have to say…this one is definitely a keeper!

22 thoughts on “French Strawberry Cake

  1. Simply beautiful! I am also not a big fan of whipping cream 🙂 If I have to choose between the two, I definitely like the look of the rustic cake better. And the two strawberries on top are just too cute 🙂

  2. I really like how you decorated your cakes, particularly the one with two strawberries and freeform swirly lines on top.

    On a different note, how do you get your first paragraph to wrap around the opening image ? I wanted to do something similar, and notice you’re using WordPress as well.

    • Thank you Paul…funny thing about the swirls. In the picture it looks like I tried to do that but in reality if you look at the picture of the top view you can see I was just roughly spreading, trying not to be perfect. So I guess just lucky in the sideways presentation! 🙂

      For the wrap around, you can put in your writing and then move the cursor to the top and left and upload you picture. Once the picture is uploaded it asks you the details of the upload. I did thumbprint and left/writing on position. You can also do right/writing or center/writing. Hope that helps! I have only had my blog since February for this cooking group so I don’t know if I am the best person to ask…ha ha!

      Do you have problems logging onto the blogspot blogs…I have stopped trying because I have so much trouble. WordPress blogs are fine.

  3. Both versions look beautiful – love your piping work. I think I’m going to have to try this one again, as I only got one layer out of it. Sifting the flour over the batter sounds like a good idea.

  4. Congratulations on your beautiful cake! I’m envious of all the air bubbles in your cake – very well done! Thanks for the tip on sifting the flour over the batter, I’ll try that next time too.

  5. nice to hear that this was such a success for you, and very much appreciated by your family and friends. both of the cakes are beautiful! p.s. I actually keep one serrated knife for bread and one just for cakes. since we like really crusty bread and baguettes, this keeps the cake knife sharp.

Leave a Reply

