Oasis Naan

I was still so excited over the success of the sticky buns when I began the new recipe, Oasis Naan.  It sounded pretty simple in comparison to the recipes we have been tackling lately!! 🙂  If you would like to have this recipe check out the host blogs at Always Add More Butter and Of Cabbages and King Cakes

I thought this flat bread sounded really good and was anxious to try it out…especially since I have had some success and not so intimidated by bread recipes anymore!  I think that was my first mistake… shouldn’t have felt so confident!! 😦

I followed the recipe and found the dough to come together nicely.  I had my oven hot, the dough sectioned into 8 pieces, and my toppings all ready.  I prepped the dough, liberally piercing the center as instructed, sprinkled the toppings and popped two of them into the oven.  Something was wrong…I did not have “flat” bread but “puffed” bread!  Oh no!!  Ok,  I thought…well the next two I will really pierce the center, leaving a nice crust around the outside…nope!

Needless to say, my Oasis Naan was not a flat bread at all but quite a puffed bread.  It tasted ok, but actually everyone thought it was very doughy…more like a pretzel….especially with the coarse salt.   Not sure where I went wrong and will be very curious to check out other blogs to see if they had similar results.  I have to say, I still really had fun and the family, as usual, was up for the tasting.  Not too sure I would make these again, so I would have to say these weren’t a keeper.

Check out my Oasis Naan “puffed” bread… ;0  You can totally see my strong piercing…what a crack up!!!

10 thoughts on “Oasis Naan

  1. What a shame it didn’t turn out as you expected, I think mine turned out like yours but I just haven’t tried naan bread that often so I was happy with it!

  2. I think many people had “puffed” up naan. Mine puffed up, but I didn’t mind since it tasted so good. I found that the last batch of naan to puff less since I pricked it right before it went in the oven.

  3. Hi, yes indeed, mine puffed up, too. Maybe less in the centre because I’ve added “tons” of different filling. … But we loved them so much!
    I have to admit that I never had naans before, so I did not know what to expect.

  4. I don’t think you did anything wrong. It must have something to do with the recipe itself for others seem to have experienced the same thing including myself. Definitely not a keeper in my book. I am on a quest to find another recipe and make authentic naan! Wish me luck!

  5. I finally made this today and most of the pieces were puffy. I liked the taste, though – reminiscent of Indian naan, but also a little like a pretzel, as you said.

Leave a Reply

