Irish Soda Bread

This was a throw together type of recipe..quick, easy, and other than the buttermilk…ingredients on hand.  Seriously, this couldn’t have taken 10 min to get into the oven…start to finish!  Our hosts for this recipe were Carla and Cathleen.  Visit their blogs to find the recipe. 🙂

 

Compared to the other recipes so far, I am at a loss what to really say! 🙂  This was super easy and tasted great too.  I think we preferred the white loaves but this recipe is a keeper!  Next time I would try it with some add-ins, maybe chocolate chips to sweeten it up a bit.

22 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread

  1. I love the title of your blog and the banner photo of the rugelach is awesome! Your philosophy sounds very similar to mine, let’s get out of our comfort zone and make some new discoveries.

  2. Beautiful photos! What a great idea to ask your family whether a new recipe is a keeper or not!
    I’m looking forward to trying this recipe again with Gruyere cheese =)

  3. What excellent pictures& your bread is lovely. All I can say is that if you are a new blogger- you’ve got it down! I consider it a triumph to get my blog & comments published! It’s a pleasure to be cooking along with such a wonderful group.

  4. If you usually buy milk, you could make your own buttermilk in no time, just add lemon juice and let it sit for a bit. I am also a fan of a basic soda bread without any add-ins or add-ons 🙂

  5. I didnt want to sweeten this one necessarily, but I did enjoy making this one for my family and using a 50-50 mix of white and whole wheat flour managed to make everyone really happy – no one was left out, or feelings hurt 🙂

Leave a Reply

